Salad dressings you need in your life

I have thought this up as an article that I imagine will help people, so don’t scoff. If you find yourself nodding along with the title, you’re the real MVP.

So anyway. Since introducing more salad in my life, I have come to face a real problem: Too many condiments in my damn fridge.

It’s a given that, unless you eat one kind of salad for every meal each day, you’re going to pile up on dressings that you don’t use frequently. Honestly, it gets to be a bit taxing to rearrange your fridge every time you buy a new bottle because there’s so many already in the door. And it always feels like you buy variations of the same dressing. “Chipotle? Nah, I got Avocado Chipotle! I know I haven’t had the Black Bean Chipotle since January, but you know what, if I throw it out, that’s when I’ll need it.”

Enough of the madness. We need to start getting in the habit of making our own dressings. And I know what you’re thinking, “But Montana! Won’t your fridge just be full of dressing ingredients, and thus take up more of your precious, ice box real estate?”

Not necessarily. Lots of basic vinaigrettes are made of olive oil and vinegar. Which, unless I’ve been storing them wrong my entire life, are pantry ideas. Buy them bulk from costco. Bam. You’re welcome.

I actually think our lives would be a lot healthier if we made almost all of our food from scratch, including our salad dressing. Plus, it’s a chance to get the flavour you’re going after. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve bought a dressing hoping it would satisfy my itch for a nice, tangy sesame and ginger dressing to put over a salad. Turns out you can make exactly that with soy sauce, sesame oil, ground ginger, honey and a bit of water. Plus, all those ingredients have uses outside of making a dressing. So I don’t have some random dressing in the fridge taking up valuable door space.

I digress. Let’s get further into this. I’m not going to tell you how to live your life, but I can almost guarantee most healthy salad dressings you make at home are going to be made of olive oil, greek yogurt, honey, or a vinegar of some sort. Those are the bases that make your dressings creamy, sweet, or tangy, respectively. Of course, you’ll need spices too, but that should be in your house already if you’re trying to eat healthier.

Next, you’ll probably want something to mix everything up evenly. Either a food processor or a salad dresser shaker will get the job done if nothing needs to be broken down.

So where does one start making their own salad dressing from scratch? Here’s some food for thought:

Avocado Greek Yogurt Ranch Dressing
Miso Sesame Ginger Dressing
Greek Vinaigrette
Chipotle Lime Southwest Dressing
Creamy Greek Yogurt Maple Dijon Dressing

But the possibilities don’t end there. Add flavours with oil bases to see what works for you. Making your own dressings from scratch is cheaper, healthier, and much tastier than buying them from the store. 10/10, would recommend.

And if you’re in the business for homemade dips, here are some healthy and vegan dips for veggies, chips, and even sweets. (Plus, Laura is just insanely cute.)

Leave a Reply

